The Delta Gamma chapter is very proud of its past achievements and general history. We pride ourselves in being one of the few chapters of Kappa Kappa Psi that thrive at a university that does not have a music major program. Below is a quick history of our chapter's activities and achievements:

1906: MSM Orchestra was formed as the first instrumental ensemble at MSM.

1926: Miner Band was formed by John W. Scott, Rolla businessman and former MSM student.

March 9, 1958: Delta Gamma chapter of Kappa Kappa Psi was chartered as chapter number 99.

Spring 1964: Delta Gamma's Membership Candidate Plaque was designed by Richard Burkhalter.

May 9, 1970: Delta Xi chapter of Tau Beta Sigma was chartered as chapter number 110.

March 18, 1978: Omega Delta Gamma of Kappa Kappa Psi, the first alumni chapter, was chartered. (Omega Delta Gamma later became the Miner Music Alumni Association, which is now called the Miner Music Section of the MSM-UMR Alumni Association.)

"Fight Miners" was composed by Harold Cleveland, the Rolla Junior High Band director. It was later rearranged by Dr. Alan Davis.

1981-1983: Dr. David Oakley of UMR served as National President.

1973-1977: Joel Kramme served as a member of the Kappa Kappa Psi Board of Trustees.

1973-1975: Glenn Anderson served as National Member-at-Large.

1981-1983: Paul Bushmeyer served as National Member-at-Large.

Dr. Douglas Stotter, Life Member of Kappa Kappa Psi and Honorary of Tau Beta Sigma takes over as Director of Bands.

1997: Mr. Donald Miller, the UMR Director of Bands, is a member of Kappa Kappa Psi, an honorary of Tau Beta Sigma, and an honorary of the Delta Gamma chapter.

1999: Delta Gamma and Delta Xi host National Convention, "Meet Me In St. Louis".

Dr. Robert Cesario takes over as Director of Bands

2011: Emily Holden, a Delta Gamma brother, becomes Midwest District President.

2012: Delta Gamma and Delta Xi host District Convention, "The Science of Music".

2013: Dr. Robert Cesario, Missouri S&T Director of Bands, becomes an honorary member of Kappa Kappa Psi - Delta Gamma.

2015: Dr. David Cress take over as Director of Bands

2015: Mr. Phillip Conjerti takes over as Orchestra Director

2017: Dr. David Samson takes over as Director of Bands


Thank you for visiting our website!